One Inspiration of a Stutterer

Today I met this guy named José. No, not [x]osé, but [ʒ]osé. That’s how he pronounced it and how it ought to be said. José has a “problem” as many might call it – stuttering. He came into the shop where I work and took a deep breath to start talking. He was almost out of breath, but only because I was the 60th out of the 100 people he had to talk to. His target was to reach this number of people and see what their diverse opinions and reactions would be. He told me that many of them were impatient or stupefied as to what was going on with him. Of course, not everyone is open-minded and ready to accept people like him. That is utterly wrong!
As Ellen DeGeneres said: “there are the values that I stand for: honesty, equality, kindness, compassion, treating people the way you want to be treated and helping those in need. To me, those are traditional values.”
“Equality” and “treating people the way you want to be treated” are two very important segments. He is human just like you after all. Wear his shoes for a while and let’s see if you can last one whole hour without feeling demeaned by people.
On a completely different note, what José used to help him form his sentences correctly with rare stutters is “breath control”. I won’t go into scientific details about that because I wouldn’t really understand them myself. Long story short, stuttering happens because of closed vocal folds. So, breathing right will make the words come out easily. Many techniques are used for that: control of tongue, lips movements, prolongation of syllables etc. One characteristic that is most important is good eye-contact. In fact, José and I had a pretty well-controlled eye-contact. He amazed me so much that I couldn’t keep my eyes off him – unless if it were to check for any customers coming in.
Big respect to José and I hope we will meet again soon!
So, did you reach the 100th person? What were the reactions? How do you feel right now?
I’ve got so many questions for you…
Loads of respect and love!
Someone who believes in great achievers like you!
 

Leave a Reply

